Saving your builds  (Read 396 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Tidala

Saving your builds
« on: 22 Dec 2018, 03:37:18 »
Are we allowed to use any mods to save the world around us so we can preserve our builds?

Citebafla

Re: Saving your builds
« Reply #1 on: 24 Dec 2018, 12:50:49 »
If the answer to this is yes, I'd love to know how I can save/export my builds :) Would be a shame if something ever happened to the server with my build.

KilljoyDivine

Re: Saving your builds
« Reply #2 on: 25 Dec 2018, 01:36:28 »
The best way to preserve your builds is to support the server by playing on it. :D Noobstown isn't going anywhere! :D

Citebafla

Re: Saving your builds
« Reply #3 on: 25 Dec 2018, 03:07:05 »
The best way to preserve your builds is to support the server by playing on it. :D Noobstown isn't going anywhere! :D

And as someone that makes a living out of repairing computers, I can safely say that I always want backups of backups of backups. I don't expect Noobstown to be going anywhere, but I want to be 100% safe. I've put years of work into my build and I just want to be able to have a backup on both my PC and external harddrive. Don't think that's too much to ask?

KilljoyDivine

Re: Saving your builds
« Reply #4 on: 25 Dec 2018, 03:34:34 »
I don't think that's policy pretty much anywhere, but I'll lock the thread and Larry can unlock it and reply as he can.

ItsLawrence

Re: Saving your builds
« Reply #5 on: 25 Dec 2018, 12:04:32 »
Are we allowed to use any mods to save the world around us so we can preserve our builds?
This isn't something we'd suggest you do. We have no plans to not preserve your builds as we have done for many years now. If you're active then your builds should still be there the next time you want to play here.

At the moment we simply require you to connect at least once in the last three months to ensure your builds aren't removed from the Wilderness world, but in reality it's often much longer than that. You will receive a warning message from me on the site if you're getting close to the three month time. Plus if you contact me and explain things then I'm happy to reasonably extend that time too.

From our end there is currently no way to export your individual builds from Noobstown and this isn't something we plan on offering. As is standard with Minecraft servers; if you want to build and play on Noobstown then that's where your builds will sit.

Tidala

Saving your builds pt 2
« Reply #6 on: 30 Dec 2018, 20:29:38 »
Maybe don't lock my topic before I can even reply, thanks?

So I can actually say something now. You don't plan to NOT preserve them, but unless this truely is the final version of NC, then they'll eventually be lost.

Remember v5, how people wanted to preserve them because we knew it was going to be deleted and were told no. And then you show us that museum world that was nearly impossible to get around or FIND your builds. Not a good sub.

Also you deleted that as well soo...? And didn't allow anyone to download the world or anything even if there was the whole "promise not to make your own server with our map" bull.

I still have my builds from Minecraft BETA. And I don't trust servers with things I put my heart into because I know they will be erased eventually. At least if I have it, I'm in control.

I was asking to be polite, but I had already saved my builds.

NOW you can go ahead and lock it.

ItsLawrence

Re: Saving your builds
« Reply #7 on: 31 Dec 2018, 00:28:54 »
...
So I can actually say something now. You don't plan to NOT preserve them, but unless this truely is the final version of NC, then they'll eventually be lost.

Remember v5, how people wanted to preserve them because we knew it was going to be deleted and were told no. And then you show us that museum world that was nearly impossible to get around or FIND your builds. Not a good sub.

Also you deleted that as well soo...? And didn't allow anyone to download the world or anything even if there was the whole "promise not to make your own server with our map" bull.
...
The current version of Noobstown has existed for coming up to 5 years; as I said in my reply above, we have no plans for a full reset of things like previously ever again. The current version of Noobstown (originally referred to as V6) was originally made and planned in such a way for it to be our final version of Noobstown, with changes simply being made around the fundamental Wilderness and Town systems; and expansion if ever needed. As was discussed at the time; the change away from V5 was needed to clean up Noobstown's worlds and to allow for continued gameplay, this isn't something we need to do now (or should ever need to do moving forward), now that we have the Wilderness and Town systems which can clear and reset inactive/unused land as needed, and because our custom world is enormous compared to the previous ones.

I'm sorry that an important change we made almost 5 years ago has caused you concern; but I believe our track record of keeping the builds of active players is pretty good. We have got hundreds of players' builds which have existed for literally all of those years which you can still explore now, and can be used and built upon by their owners.

...
I was asking to be polite, but I had already saved my builds.
...
I'm not entirely sure why you posed your original question in terms of asking if it was allowed or not then. What were you attempting to gain by asking if you had already acted, it would have been too late if I'd said it wasn't allowed? If you think that something might not be allowed it's best to confirm before attempting it.



As I said in my reply above:
...
From our end there is currently no way to export your individual builds from Noobstown and this isn't something we plan on offering. As is standard with Minecraft servers; if you want to build and play on Noobstown then that's where your builds will sit.